SIDE LETTER AGREEMENT FOR CONFORMANCE
WITH CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT CODE 12945.7 — Bereavement Leave

This side letter agreement reflects the intent of the parties, County of Santa Cruz and the Deputy
Sheriff Association (Law Enforcement), to incorporate the requirements of California Government
Code 12945.7 in the current memorandum of understanding (MOU) related to the use of bereavement
leave. Items forincorporation are the following:

Article 18.5.B shall be modified as follows:

Bereavement Leave.

In accordance with California Government Code 12945.7, employees who have been employed by the
County for at least 30 days shall be granted bereavement leave with pay by their appointing authority
in the case of the death of the following family members:

the employee’s spouse/domestic partner,

the children, grandchildren, stepchildren, foster children, and adopted children of the
employee and/or of the employee’s spouse/domestic partner,

the parents of the employee and/or of the employee’s spouse/domestic partner,

the step-parents of the employee and/or of the employee’s spouse/domestic partnter,
the grandparents of the employee,

and the siblings of the employee and/or of the employee’s spouse/domestic partner.

Family members listed above pertaining to the employee’s domestic partner are recognized by the
County after submission of an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership.

Employees are eligible for five (5) days off for bereavement leave of which three (3) days shall be paid
and two (2) days shall be unpaid, except that when the employee must travel outside of California as
the result of a death occurring outside of California, all five (5) days shall be paid. Employees may use
available annual leave or other accruals on any unpaid days of bereavement leave. One “day” of

bereavement leave as used in this Article shall be equivalent to a regularly scheduled work day (e.g. 8

hours, 10 hours, 12 hours) for full-time employees and shall be pro-rated for part-time employees.




Pursuant to California Government Code 12945.7, the County has the right to request documentation
of the death within thirty (30) days of the first day of the bereavement leave. The days of bereavement
leave do not have to be consecutive, hiut the bereavement leave must be completed within three (3)
months of the date of the death of the family member.
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